ByFrank Fields, writer at
Storyteller. World builder. Bant loyalist. My life for Aiur, Magic, and esports.

While 2016 might not have been the year we wanted, it's been a great year for video games. Today, the nominees for The Game Awards 2016 were announced, with Uncharted 4: A Thief's End, Firewatch, Inside, and Overwatch leading the way with 23 combined nominations.

The Game Awards are often referred to as the Oscars of the gaming industry, and look to continue their mission of legitimizing games as an art form:

“The Game Awards is all about celebrating the state of video game art. In just a few short weeks we will recognize the most outstanding games of 2016 in unexpected ways, and preview the most anticipated games of 2017 and beyond with the longest, most in-depth world premieres we’ve ever attempted -- including surprises and new game announcements." - Geoff Keighley, The Game Awards producer/host.

The Awards will be held Thursday, December 1 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, where nominees will be honored and judged by 28 global media outlets, and declared winners in a variety of categories. Everything from storyline, to musical score, to professional gamers are being celebrated.

That's a pretty epic trophy
That's a pretty epic trophy

While professional media outlets will determine the bulk of the winners, five categories will be determined by fan vote, including three categories.

Big Winners

Of the nominated games, Naughty Dog's Uncharted 4: A Thief's End earned the most nominations with eight, including Game of the Year, Best Game Direction, Best Art Direction, Best Narrative, and three separate nominations for Best Performance for voice actors Nolan North, Troy Baker, and Emily Rose.

Critically acclaimed indie games Firewatch by Campo Santo and Inside by Playdead both earned five nominations, as did Blizzard's multiplayer FPS Overwatch.

You can look at the full list of nominees over at the official website.


What title is Game of the Year?


Latest from our Creators